Freifunk Gluon – My experiments so far – Updates

In my last post I was talking about Freinfunk Gluon,  Freemesh and what I was doing about it. This post would be a follow up to that.

So for a quick recap,

  • I had setup a node with Freifunk Gluon firmware from the Freemesh Denkmark community
  • Started setting up the gateway node to which other routers connect to and form a mesh

What is the current status ?

Well, I have completed the gateway setup and this post I am writing along with other network traffic from my laptop is going through the gateway. It’s not a big deal, because communities are using tools like Ansible & Puppet to automate the entire setup. But hey, this is very important to me doing it the long way.

How did I achieve it ?

My single source of knowledge of this setup (most of it) was based on Generic Freemesh Gateway from Freemesh Ireland community. Here’s what I did with respect to Gateway and Firmware setup

Gateway

  • Create a VPS (5$) with Debian Jessie from Digital Ocean
  • Setup the necessary users, disable remote login for root, disable password logins and only allow key based logins
  • Setup a basic firewall
  • Download the necessary software
  • Setup B.A.T.M.A.N (for routing) & Fastd VPN (for connecting nodes)
  • Setup network interfaces
  • Setup DHCP & DNS (for mesh nodes & clients)
  • Setup NAT to forward the traffic from mesh nodes & clients to the internet
  • Setup vnstat for network statistics from various network interfaces
  • Setup Hopglass (frontend) & Hopglass Server to collect info from the nodes & display them on the map
  • Setup Grafana & Prometheus that provides data visualisation & monitoring respectively
  • Setup Fail2Ban to ban IP’s by reading logs & dynamically add rules to iptables

Building Firmware

  • Clone the stable branch of Freifunk Gluon
  • Clone an existing site configuration (its mesh node configuration actually)
  • Update the site configuration with details like community name, IP’s for the node, WiFi & ad-hoc AP configuration, gateway information (so the nodes could connect to it via Fastd VPN), etc.,
  • Build the firmware
  • Flash it on to the router

Some hurdles faced

In any task there would be some hurdles and its up to us to solve them and proceed. The main hurdle I faced was lack of understanding in networks & its configurations. So, I didn’t solve or learn all of them, instead I took steps to learn and understand them better through simple setup.

I wanted to try out some of the software I mentioned above and see how the configurations would actually work. Since, I mostly use my laptop for development, I made a better use of Raspberry Pi by turning it into a test bed to hone my skills. So, for the initial part I tried setting up the following on my Pi and use them from my laptop,

  • DHCP
  • DNS
  • NTP
  • Fastd
  • Iptables & NAT

For most of the part, I used tcpdump and syslog to monitor the output. By playing with the configurations, I was able get a good grasp on what was happening. There is still a lot to learn, but its a start nonetheless.

Then I faced some issues where the map wasn’t updated anymore, DNS & NTP requests were denied. Then after checking the logs could see that firewall was blocking those packets and so I had to add rules to allow the following (all these rules apply only to the private subnet),

  • DNS
  • Multicast
  • NTP

Some Pics

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You can check the map here.

What then ?

I will be continuing to experiment with the gateway and node, then see what else I can do to proceed. I am planning to look at the Ansible scripts to automate the gateway setup and further improve my knowledge on networks.

Note: If peers in my local community are interested in this concept, we could try it out.

Leave a Reply

